Map of China

China is the third largest country in the world. It is in East Asia beside the Pacific Ocean. China’s shape resembles a rooster. The capital city of China is Beijing. Some other large cities include Shanghai, Guangzhou, and Shenzhen. China has two major rivers, the Yangtze River and the Yellow River. China is a developing country and it has the largest population in the world. China has 23 provinces, 5 autonomous regions (Xinjiang, Xizang, Neimeng, Ningxia, Guangxi), 4 municipalities (Beijing, Shanghai, Chongqing, Tianjin), and 2 Special Administrative Regions (Hong Kong and Macau).

Chinese Flag

The flag of China has a red background and five yellow stars on the top left corner. The stars are arranged with four small stars in a semicircle around one large star. Red is used to represent the communist revolution. The five stars represent the unity of the Chinese. The large star represents the Communist Party of China. The four small stars represent the four social classes, which are the working class, the peasantry, the urban petty bourgeoisie, and the national bourgeoisie.